Close this search box.

“Science Today and The Future of Knowledge” – CNC’s International Conference

“Science Today and The Future of Knowledge” – CNC’s International Conference
Date: November 20, 2015
Venue: Pavilhão do Conhecimento, Lisboa

The Centro Nacional de Cultura (National Culture Centre) is organizing an international conference under the theme “Science Today and The Future of Knowledge” to discuss the current state of science and the need to ensure knowledge for the future. This event will highlight, in particular, the coordination of international efforts to stimulate knowledge for worldwide development. This conference is the last of a cycle of events paying tribute to former Portuguese Minister of Science and Technology, José Mariano Gago and celebrates the 70 year-anniversary of the Centro Nacional de Cultura, under the theme “Science, Politics and Scientific Culture”.

For this conference, nearly 50 experts are expected to participate and among the names announced there can be found current and former government representatives, such as Ernie Moniz , U.S. Secretary of Energy; Carlos Moedas and Mario Campolargo , from the European Commission; Wang Weizhong and Liu Yanhua, Former Vice Ministers from People’s Republic of China; José Carvalho and Maria Teixeira, Science and Technology Ministers from Angola and Jorge Nhambiu, Science and Technology Minister of Moçambique.

Other representatives from worldwide organizations will be present, such as Deborah Roseveare and Andrew Wyckoff, Education and Science Directors from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); Jean-Jacques Dordain , General Director from the European Space Agency (ESA); Dava Newman , Vice President of U.S.’s National Aeronautics and Space Agency (NASA); Irina Bokova, Maciej Nalecz and Guillermo A. Lemarchand from United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and Sierd Clotingh , President of Academia Europea and Vice President of the European Research Council (ERC).

Experts from academia are also expected, the list includes Jared Cohon and Manuela Veloso from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), Bruce Tidor , Phil Clay and Dan Roos from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Nuno Ferrand and Alexandre Quintanilha from Universidade do Porto (UP).

For more details on the events and the full list of expected lecturers in the conference, please visit CNC’s website.