Close this search box.

1st Patient Innovation Awards Winners Announced

Patient Innovation Honors the Pioneering Innovators That Help the Platform Users 1 st Patient Innovation Awards Winners Ceremony

The Patient Innovation has announced the winners of the 1 st Innovation Awards competition, and the ceremony will be held on July 13, 2015. The platform’s Advisory Board, composed of six experts in the areas of technology and medicine, has chosen among 200 eligible candidacies, six winners in individual categories. The Board, in statement, explains the choice of six winners instead of the expected single prize: “these innovations were outstanding and the Advisory Board could not restrict themselves to one winner per category and selected a total of 6 winners”.

In the category Patient Innovation Award, the winners were Louis Plante (Canada) with The Frequencer TM , a device that uses sound waves to help clear the lungs of fluid; Lisa Crites (USA) with the Shower Shirt TM , a water-resistant garment to allow patients of upper thorax surgeries to shower normally; and Tal Golesworthy (UK), with Exovasc R , a Personalised External Aortic Root Support.

The Caregiver Innovation Award Category highlighted the work of two contributors, Debby Elnatan (Israel) with Upsee ™, a system of straps that links the child to the caregiver for an experience close to walking independently; and Joaquina Teixeira (Portugal) with helium balloons, that she placed all over the house to encourage her son to stand up and jump on his own.

Ivan Owen (USA) is the sole winner of the Collaborator Innovation Award Category, with his 3D Printed Prosthetic Hand, two low-cost designs for 3D printed prosthetic hands in adult and child size, that the author shares free-of-charge online.

The members of the Patient Innovation Advisory Board are Prof. Aaron Ciechanover, the 2004 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Prof. Eric von Hippel and Prof. Robert Langer from MIT, Prof. Katherine Strandburg from New York University, Prof. Lee Fleming from University of California, Berkeley and Sir Richard Roberts, the 1993 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine.

The award ceremony will take place in July 13, 2015 at the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon, Portugal.

Patient Innovation is related with the Entrepreneurial Research Initiatives “Technology, Entrepreneurship and Innovation Policy Lab” (TEIPL), carried out in the scope of the CMU Portugal Program, funded by the Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia.

June, 2015

Program – day 1: July 13, 2015

Opening of and User Innovation Society Meeting

Held jointly with the Patient Innovation Awards Ceremony (Aud. 2) (Venue: Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Lisbon, Portugal)

9:30 Welcome Remarks

Francisco Veloso , Dean, Católica-Lisbon School of Business Economics

9:45 Keynote Speakers

Carlos Moedas , European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation

Eric von Hippel , Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

10:30 Patient Innovation Awards Ceremony

Pedro Oliveira , Project Leader, Patient Innovation (Católica-Lisbon)

Category “Patients”

Lisa Crites (USA): The Shower Shirt
Presented by Carliss Baldwin, Harvard University

Tal Golesworthy (UK): Aortic Root Support
Presented by Artur Santos Silva, President, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

Louis Plante (Canada): The Frequencer
Presented by Eric von Hippel, MIT

Category “Caregivers”

Debby Elnatan (Israel): The Upsee
Presented by Helena Canhão, Project Leader & Chief Medical Officer, Patient Innovation

Joaquina Teixeira (Portugal): The Helium Balloons
Presented by João Claro , Director, Carnegie Mellon Portugal Program

Category “Collaborators”

Ivan Owen (USA): 3D-printed Prosthetics

Presented by Carlos Moedas, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation

11:50 Closing remarks

Artur Santos Silva , President, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

(12:00 group photo)