Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo Award Ceremony

The prize-giving ceremony of the “Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo” 2018, will take place on March 25 at 4:30 pm at the IST Alameda Campus Hall.

Manuela Veloso, Carnegie Mellon Portugal Faculty, won the 2018 award in the Alumna category.  The CMU Professor was distinguished for “her scientific contributions, strong international projection and the close bond that she has kept with Portugal and Instituto Superior Técnico, since her graduation in Electrical and Computer Engineering at IST and afterwards as Professor at the University of Carnegie Mellon and now in her current position of Director of the Department of Research in Artificial Intelligence of J.P. Morgan.

Since 2016, Instituto Superior Técnico (Técnico) promotes the Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo Award aiming to recognize and reward annually two women, graduated at Técnico, as a way to promote the gender balance policy at Técnico. Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo was an Engineer and a distinguished alumna of Técnico with high impact in the Portuguese society and policy her whole life, being the first women who held the position of Prime Minister of Portugal.

The award is divided in two categories:

  • A former student who has completed her studies at Técnico for over 15 years and who has made outstanding contributions throughout her professional career;
  • A young graduated from Técnico, aged under 27 years on 31st December of the year preceding the one in which the prize refers to, whose Master’s thesis has been distinguished for its scientific quality and whose academic performance at Técnico has been remarkable.

Mariana Araújo, who recently graduated in the “Física Tecnológica” Masters (MSc, 19/20) won in the second category.

Start date

Mar. 25, 2019

4:30 pm

End Date

Mar. 25, 2019

6:00 pm